Posted on

HIStory on an individual level!

I am not interested in the past: perhaps, because in school history it was such a cold and sterile subject that I always wondered what was the point of digging up dead facts? Facts that seem to have no relevance to the present. All one ever hears from our parents generation is how good it used to be. As far as I can remember the law and order situation was always precarious, the political scene was chaotic, and the country was on the brink of financial collapse. Are we the youth responsible for such a sorry state of affairs? I think not, though, all the talk of the wonderful past and no apologies for the miseries of today makes me feel that somehow the young men and women of my age or near about  are accountable.

Food shortages, water shortages, power cuts, suicide bombings-in short gloom doom and death are flavours of the present. The birth of Pakistan seems to be an insignificant event. If we have been brought up on a diet of Allama Iqbal’s poetry and the sterling qualities of Mohammad Ali Jinnah, the sacrifices of all those courageous people who gave their all for a muslim homeland, I most certainly would have been a student of history. When the human element is missing interest is lost. However, I did learn one very important lesson, that history is a process, nothing happens in isolation. The rise and fall of empires is a natural process. This process propels mankind forward in its evolution. Coming back to Allama Iqbal, I studied his poetry in-depth during the time of my A levels, no piece of literature has touched me as much as Iqbal’s fine words. It is in a league of its own.

Iqbal warms the cockles of the heart and makes the spirit soar. Wished I did not have to wait so long to experience this. The Quaid is truly a style icon. Whenever I see his photographs I am impressed by his dress sense and the way he carried himself with so much dignity and pride. To quote Stanley Wolpert ” Few individuals significantly alter the course of history.Fewer still modify the map of the world. Hardly anyone can be credited with creating a nation-state. Mohammad Ali Jinnah all three.” This kind of talk is not heard from lips of parents, teachers, and leaders. If we were made aware of the greatness of the truly great by word and deed, history would have a purpose and meaning. The likes of myself would be more connected and would know how to control and create history. For the present, It’s hard to say anything because I feel powerless, and the only thing that’s in my control are the abilities to create .

About fatimasiddiqi

Life is an eternal quest about knowing oneself.The deep root of failure in our lives is to think, 'Oh how useless and powerless I am.' It is essential to think strongly and forcefully, 'I can do it,' without boasting or fretting.I am one of those people who love the why of things.

Leave a Reply

